Conversations with a four-year-old

Yesterday, walking to the secret park with the twins, Charlie and I had the following conversation:

Me: Charlie, you have only six more days at preschool, then it’s all done!

Charlie: Then I’m in Kindergarten!

Me: Yes! But not right away – first, we have the summer.

Charlie: Yes. First, we go on a plane to England, then it’s summer, then I go to Kindergarten!

Me: Yup. Are you excited to go to England? 

Charlie: Yes, but you know, I’ve went one time before, with Leo and Thomas and all my preschool friends…

Me: Hmm. Really? When was that?

Charlie: Oh, it was before the dinosaurs.

Me: Uh huh.

(Pause)

Charlie: Sometimes, I like to tell stories.

Me: I noticed that.

It’s funny how conversations with her start off so rational, and take these odd little turns into fantasy… I was impressed that she was aware (and willing to admit!) that she was leaving reality behind – she usually sticks staunchly to her version of the ‘facts’, no matter how outlandish.

Here she is showing off her new window display, courtesy of my Mum.  I was amused that she organized the sea creatures so tidily:

It’s true that we’re going to England – we leave next Friday, and I have many, many things to do before we get on that plane.  My lucky husband gets to avoid flying with our 3 small children – he’s going to a conference in Halifax on Thursday, June 12th, then flying directly to London.  Charlie has her preschool graduation that day, then my parents will be arriving and we’ll be flying together on… Friday the 13th. 

One thought on “Conversations with a four-year-old

  1. Tonya says:

    Honey, if it makes you feel any better about flying, I too will be flying with just the 3 kids over the summer. We are heading home to Australia for a month. Yippee. I’m so nervous about doing the plane flight on my own though.

    Good luck and have a fantastic trip.

    I loved your conversation with Charlie, she’s such a cutie.

Leave a comment